Subscriber Login

Bulk of election field set

By Makenna Mays, Staff Writer

With the Indiana General Elections coming up on Tuesday, Nov. 6, there are a few county office positions that are contested.

These include:

• All three county council districts. County Council District 1: Republican incumbent Joe Sizemore is against Democrat Party Chairperson Tom Vohland; District 2: Democrat Chester Ball, a former district foreman at the county highway department, is against Republican Scott M. McDonough, a former county commissioner; and District 3: Republican incumbent Jeff Koch is against Democrat Richard Cartwright.

• Assistant Prosecutor Chris Huerkamp is against Democrat Sean Vicente. Current incumbent Democrat Mel Wilhelm decided not to run and is instead retiring on Dec. 31.

Those running uncontested include:

• Judge of the 37th Judicial Circuit Court, J. Steven Cox (R)

• Clerk of the Circuit Court, Neysa R. Raible (R)

• County Auditor, Karla Bauman (R)

• County Sheriff, Peter W. Cates (R)

• County Coroner, Brian Baxter (R)

• County Assessor, Brenda Eckerle (R)

• County Commissioner District 1, Gerald (Jerry) (R)

• County Commissioner District 2, Tom Linkel (R)

• County Council District 4, Joe W. Gillespie Jr. (D)

• Brookville Town Council Ward 2, Darrel Flashpohler (D)

• Brookville Town Council Ward 4, Catherine J. Pelsor (D)

There are also many township trustee positions that are running uncontested.

These positions include:

• Vivian June Shepler (D), Blooming Grove

• Kathryn (Kit) Flaspohler (D), Brookville

• Francis (Butch) Flaspohler (D), Butler

• Angie Nobbe (D), Fairfield

• Arthur DeFossett Jr. (D), Highland

• Delbert Spurlock (D), Laurel

• Mike Ferman (R), Metamora

• Tim Hollars (R), Posey

• Gary Yane (D), Salt Creek Township

• Cecil Bruns (D), Springfield Township

• Roy N. Hall (R), Whitewater Township.

Jeff Raatz (R) will be running against Jerome (Jake) Hoog (D) for State Senator District 27. This district includes Metamora, Fair-field, Bath, Springfield, Brookville, Blooming Grove, Highland and Whitewater.

Running for State Representative District 55 are Cindy Meyer Ziemke (R) and Corinne Westerfield (D). This district includes Posey, Salt Creek, Ray, Batesville and Oldenburg.

Randy Lyness (R) and Matt Gaustad (D) will be running for State Representative District 68. This district includes Laurel, Blooming Grove, Fair-field, Bath, Springfield, Brookville, Metamora, Butler, Highland and Whitewater.