The 19th annual Union County High School Scholastic Achievement Program honored more than 100 students who achieved academic excellence at the end of the previous school year.

Miami University Conference and Event Services catered the evening meal provided by the Union County Schools Fund, Union County College Corner Joint School District and Jack Thompson.

Thompson is a 1967 graduate of Short High School in Liberty who created the Thompson Academic Fund (TAF) in 1998, to supplement UCHS academic needs. In 2010, the TAF became the Union County Educational Excellence Program (UCEEP), which supports all Union County Schools. UCEEP then became the Union County Schools Fund (UCSF) which is now a fund of the Union County Foundation and serves as a permanent endowment to support Union County schools.

Melodious music by the UC Chamber Ensemble of Noah Pavey, Brandon Louden and Brady Hill welcomed students and guests to the auditorium for the awards program.

“It’s an honor to be here, and it’s always good to be home,” Thompson said. “I congratulate the students and their parents for achieving the academic performance levels that qualify them for attending tonight. Achieving excellence in your academic endeavors is the most important thing you can be doing at this time in your life.”

Principal Connie Rosenberger highlighted what the past 20-year relationship between Union County schools and Thompson has accomplished:

•More than $655,535 in equipment and supplies.
•Global scholarships -162 with an additional 31 traveling in March.
•Fifth grade overnight science trips.
•Middle school mathematic equipment.
•Academic dinners and scholarships.

“Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Thompson has crossed more than $1 million dollars in donations to our schools and students – $1,0058,035 to be exact as far as we can tell,” Rosenberger said. “Mr. Thompson’s vision and ultimate financial support is unprecedented and frankly, very hard to comprehend. Mr. Thompson and the UCSF have made a difference in many students’ and families’ lives, and in our community as a whole. He is truly Union County’s very own Million Dollar Man.”

Keynote Speaker Dale Cummins and Union County National Bank (now First Merchants Bank) were the original catalysts for forming the Academic Booster Organization by its financial support, and FMB continues to sponsor the academic blankets awarded to students in the spring.
The awards program in the high school auditorium spotlighted the deserving students who were individually called to the stage by UCHS English teacher Karla Barnhizer to receive Scholastic Achievement plaques for their accomplishments.

Following the awards presentation, many students and parents came forward to extend their thanks to Thompson before departing for home. 

UCHS Scholastic Achievement 
(3.5-3.6999 GPA)

 Seniors - Kamryn Brock, Robert Derickson, Allyson Gayhart, Madeline Hoke, Lindsay Lang, Cody Peters, Griffen Rude, Taylor Sibert. 

Juniors - Kelly Bruns, Anna Buckler, Ashley Gifford, Payton Hornung, Michael O’Sullivan, Grace Patrick, Dylan Persinger, Raigen Singer, Emmalia Witter.

Sophomores - Kayne Adams, Lauren Alldredge, Alyson Cogan, Gabriel Cox, Jackson Dodd, Reily Frazer, Carlie Hertel, Harleigh Keasling, Nicholas Orr, Skye Powell, Emily Sullivan.

(3.7-3.78999 GPA)

Seniors - Amaya Evans, Dustin Freeman, Hannah Guilfoyle, Kendall Jones, Lissie Pitcher, Karagan Reuss, Sophia Tolford.

Juniors - Maggie Fagen, Madison Gray, Whitley Legear, Hunter Logue, Jackson Phenis, Emily Pitcher, Ella Reis, Hayden Schlichter, Emma Townsend, Luke Yamashiro.  

Sophomores - Grace Arididon, Anastasia Clarkston, Abbigail Hampton, Kaleah Louden, Michael Schroth.

Highest Honors
(3.9 or above GPA)

Seniors - Luke Bantz, Alex Bentley, Nate Burress, Emma Cannon, Dylan Dunaway, Carson Eversole, Madilyn Gaebel, Michael Horning, Hayleigh Keasling, Noah Pavey, Taylor Pinkerton, Olivia Ramey, Haylee Richards, Ian Robinson, Emma Sharpe, Jordyn Tipton, Brooklyn Wilson.

Juniors - Genevieve Antrim, Kalin Baumbauer,  Kadence Brock, Reagan Chapman, Derek Grissom, Emily Harrison, Gwendolyn Harvey, Kylie Hetzer, Ryleigh Hollen, Jenna Johnson, Hayley Kottka, Morgan Krom, Ryan Lay, Samuel Logue, Lucas Paddock, Mahlon Page, Ellie Pitcher, Braydon Reiboldt, John Teeguarden, Mason Tipton, Elly Volz, Roya Walton, Vanessa West, Bailey Wolf, Cameron Woods.

Sophomores - Zora Allstatter, Morgan Ball, Emma Cox, Keegan Coyle, Kasey Lang, Brooke Marcum, Dylan Martz, Sheldon Miller, Leea Persinger, Faith Richardson, Reece Watterson, Lilly Witter.