Franklin County had two wrestlers take their places on the podium during the Spartan Classic Friday and Saturday, Dec. 27-28, 2019.
Junior Adam Crouch took fifth place at 138 while fellow junior Evan Seal gained eighth place at 126.

As a team, the Wildcats finished 22 (80 points) in the 32-team tournament. Lafayette Harrison won the team title with 238 points. Greenfield Central was second (225.5) and East Noble third (187.5). Of local teams, Tri-Eastern Conference school Northeastern came in 13 (109) while Richmond (99) was 15. Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference foe Connersville was the best from that conference at 18 (87.5). Another EIAC school, Greensburg, came in 24 with 70.5 points. Nearby Union County was 27 with 49 points.

Crouch had a 4-2 record in the two-day, massive tournament. He defeated Darin Johnson of New Palestine via a pin. He got another pin against Elijah Wuestefeld of Shenandoah. On the last contest of Friday's competition, Crouch decisioned Zach Stewart of Triton Central, 8-3. 

Crouch lost his first match on Saturday putting him in the tough wrestle-back bracket. He lost to Greenfield Central's Dylan Dorman in a major decision, 13-2. He then lost to Valparaiso's Zak Krouse via a pin before defeating Union County's Evan Wolf via a pin to take fifth.

Seal lost to Shelbyville's Jordan Vinson on a technical fall. He then defeated Jaden Richards of Columbus North via a pin. He also beat Daleville's Noah Gibson with a pin. And Charleston's Alex Sheehan also lost to Seal with a pin. However Seal lost a close, 3-2 decision to Blaine Malott of East Noble. Finally, Seal lost to Western Boone's Ryan Taylor by pin to close out his tournament.

FC is back in action this weekend at the Wayne County Invitational held at Northeastern. Wrestling occurs both on Friday night and Saturday.
Team results:

1. Lafayette Harrison (LH) 238; 2. Greenfield-Central (GC) 225.5; 3. East Noble (EN) 187.5; 4. Jasper (JAS) 181; 5. Valparaiso (VAL) 176.5; 6. New Palestine (NP) 152.5; 7. Eastern (EAS) 140; 8. Fishers (FIS) 136.5; 9. Daleville (DAL) 126; 10. Danville (DAN) 123; 11. Southern Wells (SW) 119; 12. Charleston (CH) 111.5; 13. Northeastern (NE) 109; 14. Shenandoah (SHEN) 108; 15. Richmond (RI) 99; 16. Indianapolis Pike (IP) 96; 17. Mississinewa (MIS)  90; 18. Connersville (CON) 87.5; 19. Lapel (LAP) 84; 20. Western Boone (WB) 82; 21. Triton Central (TC) 81; 22. Franklin County (FC) 80; 23. Shelbyville (SHEL) 79; 24. Greensburg (GB) 70.5; 25. Beech Grove (BG) 69; 26. Calumet (CAL) 54; 27. Union County (UC) 49; 28. Fort Wayne Snider (FWS) 42.5; 29. Indianapolis Chatard (IC) 34; 30. Hagerstown (HAG) 32; 31. Switzerland County (SC) 28; 32. Columbus North (CN) 26.

FC results
120 — Andrew Merritt (3-2) lost to Brandon Kinnick (DAL), 12-6 dec.; won by forfeit; def. Matthew Pettigrew (BG), pin; def. Eli Hanson (EN), pin; lost to Keshon Edmond (IP), 5-3 dec.
126 — Evan Seal (4-3, 8th-place) lost to Jordan Vinson (SHEL), tech fall; def. Jaden Richards (CN), pin; def. Noah Gibson (DAL), pin; def. Alex Sheehan (CH), pin; def. Josh Vanosdol (GC), pin; lost the Blaine Malott (EN), 3-2 dec.; lost to Ryan Taylor (WB), pin.
132 — Ben Maze (2-2) won by forfeit; def. Amir Williams (FWS), pin; lost to Grant Owens (EN), pin; lost to Collin Miller (NE), pin.
138 — Adam Crouch (4-2, 5th place) def. Darin Johnson (NP), pin; def. Elijah Wuestefeld (SHEN), pin; def. Zach Stewart (TC), 8-3 dec.; lost to Dylan Dorman (GC), 13-2 maj. dec.; lost to Jak Krouse (VAL), pin; def. Evan Wolf (UC), pin.
145 — Jacob Lee (1-2) lost to Kyle Rice (SHEN), pin; def. Dallis Starrett (EAS), pin; lost to Jack Thursby (VAL), 14-0 maj. dec.
152 — Eric Shwab (1-2) lost to Isaiah Abels (FWS), pin; def. Raudel Arteaga (BC), pin; lost to Elijah Sims (SHEL), pin.
160 — Jordan Eversole (2-2) def. Grant Morris (LAP), pin; lost to Trevor Weakley (WB), pin; def. Josh Gill (VAL), 5-1 dec.; lost to Mayson Lewis (SHEN), pin.
170 — Austin Bohman (2-2) def. Matt Mills (NE), pin; lost to Jacob Duncan (SW), pin; won by forfeit; lost to Elijah Wilburn (IP), pin.
195 — Lendon Sizemore (1-2) lost to Matt Addis (GC), pin; won by forfeit; lost to Manuel Ordorica (CH), pin.
220 — Levis Sanders (1-2) def. Cylas Brown (MISS), pin; lost to Cullen Browning (NE), pin; lost to Alec Boggs (SC), pin.
285 — Clayton Bolser (2-2) won by forfeit; def. Gage Brown (CON), pin; lost to Tre Ice (MISS), pin; lost to Zack Velazquez (VAL), pin.