The Union County wrestling team came away from last weekend’s Wayne County Wrestling Classic as winners. The Patriots won five matches and lost three and that brought smiles from coaches AJ Bryson and Corey Rudnick.

“We wrestled well,” Bryson said. “Even in the matches we lost, we wrestled well.”

The Patriot’s losses were to Franklin County, Monroe Central, and Beech Grove.

UC was victorious over Hagerstown, Speedway, Tri High, Northeastern and Lincoln.

“We got an early look at four Tri-Eastern Conference teams and won all four matches,” Bryson said. “That gives us an idea of what the TEC and sectional will look like.”

Northeastern was host of the 2-day tournament where Union County did not fare well in the three matches in the Friday night opening. UC lost to Franklin County 52-24, Monroe Central 42-29 and to Beech Grove 45-30.
The Pats came back Saturday morning to defeat all other entered Tri-Eastern Conference teams.

The Hagerstown Tigers were out-numbered in the 41-6 loss to the Patriots. The Tri High Titans did not score against the Patriots and lost a 36-0 decision.
Up next was Northeastern and a 47-27 UC decision over the Knights. Union County’s final match in the Wayne County Classic was a 36-24 win over the Lincoln Golden Eagles.

“I was really pleased to see how well we responded today,” Bryson said. “Wrestling is a rough sport and it takes time to prepare for tournaments.”


Following a dual match at Centerville Thursday, Jan. 13, the Patriots will prepare for the Tri-Eastern Conference on Jan. 22 and the IHSAA Wrestling Sectional Jan. 29 at South Dearborn.

UC team results at Wayne County Classic...
Union County 24, Franklin County 38.
Monroe Central 42, Union Co. 29.
Beech Grove 45, Union County 30.
Speedway 6, Union County 36.
Union County 41, Hagerstown 6, Union County 36, Tri High 0.
Union County 47, Northeastern 27.
Union County 36, Lincoln 24.

UC Individual Wayne County Classic records excluding forfeit wins
103 - Cal Rudnick 2-2
113 - Carson Whitley 4-1
120 - Jesus Aquino-Morales 3-0
126 - Tanner Burns 4-2
152 - Jordan Takara 7-1
160 - Aiden Evans 3-2
285 - Nathan Reffitt 2-0